top of page

diy | craft cart

Hey hey happy readers! Hope you are having an amazing week. It's almost the weekend and this girl is super excited because of two reasons. One, it's tax free weekend in North Carolina and that means school shopping. Yes, please! And secondly, I'm planning on going to Ikea as well. Yay! The thought of going to Ikea and spending the day shopping just makes me so giddy. I might be the only mom that actually enjoys school shopping. Granted my son is only six and is only in first grade so he is pretty much laid back when it comes to picking things out but I enjoy every bit of it. Backpacks, folders, pens, pencils, clothes, oh and new shoes. The new shoes alone are worth the whole trip. Okay enough about my weird obsessions. Let's get down to business. Or in this case down to the wire. :)Speaking of Ikea, I know we all have seen those cute turquoise rolling carts from there and thought of a million reasons we needed one or a few in our lives.

raskog-kitchen-cart__0144044_PE304208_S4.JPG

Yep, that's the one. I've had this guy on my wish list for a few months now but was having a hard time narrowing down his permanent home. I thought a craft cart would be perfect, but so would a cleaning cart, or what about using it for the kids art supplies, bathroom storage, makeup storage, or even in the pantry. The possibilities are endless with this cart and the cute blue color would suit me just fine.Since I live about an hour and half from Ikea it makes it hard to just pop in everytime I see something I need or want. Sometimes I place things on my wishlist and then before I can make it in I'm over it or I have found a similar solution. Well that's sorta the case here. Enter this old wire rolling cart.

beginwithanuglywhiterollingcart.jpg

I have had this wire rolling cart for about five years and it has literally rolled in and out of every room of our house. I kept in the laundry room for storage, the kids closet for shoes, my closet for shoes, the pantry for cans, my office for junk, and finally the bathroom for towels.This weekend I was on a spray painting expedition. If it was in my reach it was painted. This cart was no exception. I started with dark teal blue but ran out about 3/4 of the way. So I went to Wal-Mart to pick up more and found a different shade of blue and decided to start over.

spraypaintitrollingcart.jpg

I love this light blue color. It's very pretty in person. And I wanted to add a little extra detail. You know how we all love gold right now? Well I added gold dipped feet wheels to my cart.

tapeoffthefeetrollingcart.jpg

Looks kinda shabby here so I taped them off and sprayed them with the same gold spray paint from a previous project.

paintthemgoldrollingcart.jpg

This project took me about 30 minutes and after waiting a couple hours for it to dry time, it was looking so darn pretty and so much better than before.

I added in a few of my favorite crafting supplies. These are the things that I use on a regular basis. Now they are ready to roll any time I need them. Get it? Roll? So clever.

craftcart1.jpg

I used elastic to secure some of my favorite papers to the side. It makes it look so colorful and now I have a better place for papers than the huge glass bucket they were in.

craftcart4.jpg

craftcart2.jpg
craftcart5.jpg

I'm in love with this cart. It makes my heart skip beats now. It went from an old ugly junker that no one wanted to a beautiful piece that everyone is fighting over. I would love to find something a bit bigger to put back into the bathroom. And is it crazy that I just want to add gold to everything now? Are you following the gold craze? What craft supplies do you keep close by? Enjoy, Stephanie


bottom of page